Honored Service Member

According to SPE Bylaws, “To be elected an Honored Service Member, a candidate shall have demonstrated long-term, outstanding service to, and support of, the Society and its objectives; shall be sponsored, in writing, by the Board of Directors of at least one Section or Division.”

HSM Application Deadlines:

  • Committee report forwarded to the Executive Board for endorsement - January
  • Presentation of the HSM awards certificates and pins - at ANTEC®

Submission Guidelines and Application:

351 members have been elected to this prestigious status since it was established in 1992.

The 2022 Honored Service Members are:


David J. Anzini,  nominated by the SPE Extrusion Division, is a Manager of Research & Development for Celgard, with an office located in Charlotte, North Carolina. Celgard is a global leader in the development and production of high-performance membrane technology which is found in lithium ion batteries and other demanding applications, such as performance textiles and specialty filtration applications. Prior to this, Dave has held positions at Zip-Pak, Pactiv, Conwed Plastics, and Mobil Chemical. He holds an MS and a BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Connecticut and has spent 40-plus years in the plastics and packaging industries.  Dave holds multiple patents and has several patent applications pending. He also serves on the Extrusion Division Board of Directors.


Dr. Paul J. Gramann, nominated by the SPE Failure Analysis and Prevention TIG, is currently President of The Madison Group, a plastics engineering firm that was founded in 1993. He is involved in the design verification, material selection and failure analysis of plastic parts. He was an Adjunct Professor at the University of Wisconsin- Madison from 2003 – 2013. He is a co-editor of the Injection Molding Handbook published by Hanser Publishers, which has been translated to Chinese and Russian. He is a contributing author to the 2nd edition of the book Failure Analysis and Prevention. He currently serves on ASTM’s D20 committee and on several Underwriter Laboratories technical panels. He was the Chair of the SPE Thermoset Division and Failure Analysis TIG. He currently serves as the Newsletter Editor of the SPE Failure Analysis TIG.


Han P. Michel, nominated by the SPE Australia-New Zealand Section, commenced his career in the plastics industry in 1970 with Dow Chemical and Upjohn Polymers in Europe. In 1984, he switched to the advisory sector and worked for the Thomas Group, Arthur D. Little, and KPMG.  In 1998, Mr. Michel moved to Australia to work for Ernst & Young. He founded E-three & Associates in 1999 working as a consultant in plastics recycling. He has held part-time positions with the CSIRO, Polyloop, Ecoproducts, and Nextek. Mr. Michel joined SPE in 1998 and is a founding member of the Australia-New Zealand Section of SPE.  Mr. Michel holds a BSc and MSc in chemistry from the University of Leiden, The Netherlands.

  Welcome Page